...Steppin' Out

Arthur Alexander

Big Stir Records, 2023


REVIEW BY: Tom Haugen


A veteran musician and former member of Sorrows and Poppees, the multi-instrumentalist Arthur Alexander pens 13 very diverse tunes in the area of pop and rock here, bringing a wealth of experience that’s accumulated across his five-decade career.my_heart_sings_the_harmony_web_ad_alt_250

“Woman” opens the listen and wastes no time drawing the listener in with Luis Herrera’s loud, swift drums and Alexander’s swirling guitar and smooth voice in the powerful, melodic climate. “It’s Not Love Anymore #2” follows with a calmer pace of retro-rock nods, where Brian Connie’s well-timed harmonica complements the rhythmic dynamics.

Further into the listen, Robert Montheureux’s oud adds much to the cultured and wise “One Life (Is All You Got),” while the frisky “Oh Lulu, Won’t You By My Girl” is an irresistible, dance floor-ready number that welcomes Mary Lou Simo’s impressive backing vocals. “I Miss You” is the best of the best, where the driving country flavored roots-rock might remind you of The Byrds with a gym membership, as it invites an immediate sing-along.

Making our way towards the end, the warm strumming and tuneful singing of “Humming Blues In Four” balances grit and tunefulness, but not before a sharp turn into buzzing electro-pop on the spacey “A Little Too Much.” “Flying Shadows” then exits the listen with a folksy jangle that radiates much talent in its instrumental appeal.

Alexander handles vocals, guitar (both electric and acoustic), bass, keyboards and orchestral scores here, and does so flawlessly. He guides his excellent band through a very diverse landscape that touches on prog, punk, and pop, among other ideas, with no lack of hooks, melody or heartfelt sentiments. Whether you’ve been following all along or this is your first taste, ...Steppin’ Out is going to impress any and all fans of rock’n’roll from any era.

Rating: B+

User Rating: Not Yet Rated



© 2023 Tom Haugen and The Daily Vault. All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Big Stir Records, and is used for informational purposes only.