The Daily Vault Review Panel

The qualifications to become a member of The Daily Vault's reviewing staff are simple: love music, write well, keep your commitments, don't expect to earn a dime. If you're interested in being part of a team that writes about music purely for the love of it, e-mail us at editor@dailyvault.com.  

David Bowling
Staff Writer
sdbowling83@earthlink.net
bobdylan_blondeBORN: The Truman Administration
JOINED THE DV STAFF: May 2007
HOMETOWN: Woonsocket, R.I.
NOW LIVING IN: Whispering Pines, N.C.
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Susan/ Amy, Stacey and two grandchildren
FAVORITE ARTIST: The Beach Boys
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Roy Orbison, Lou Reed, the Jefferson Airplane, Dire Straits, Dusty Springfield, Etta James, Pat Benatar, Mary Chapin Carpenter, early Santana, Bob Dylan.
BEER: All
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading and traveling
PERSONAL MOTTO: Relationships are temporary. Vinyl is forever.
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...it is a way to express publicly the interaction between myself and the music.
Pete Crigler
Staff Writer
tmjmutiny92@gmail.com
trippingdasy_jesus_150_01BORN: April 1986
JOINED THE DV STAFF: April 2014
HOMETOWN: West Point, VA
NOW LIVING IN: West Point, VA
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Nope
FAVORITE ARTIST: Faith No More
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Dead Milkmen, Primus, Fishbone, Lamb of God, Suicidal Tendencies, Violent Femmes, Pearl Jam, Chili Peppers, Foo Fighters, Nirvana, Too Much Joy, Judybats and literally hundreds more.
BEER: Total straight edge
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading constantly and watching probably way too much TV and movies
PERSONAL MOTTO:
Have a good time, all the time!
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:
...it’s nice to have a say in this rapidly changing music scene.
Ken DiTomaso
Staff Writer
proghead@gmail.com
xtc_apple_150BORN: January 1991
JOINED THE DV STAFF: June 2010
HOMETOWN: Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
NOW LIVING IN: Abbotsford
SPOUSE / KIDS: Nada
FAVORITE ARTIST: Genesis
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Jellyfish, XTC, Yes, King Crimson, Ween, Rush, the Beach Boys, King Crimson, Sparks, Barenaked Ladies, The Residents, Pink Floyd, The New Pornographers, Of Montreal.
BEER
: Whatever you've got I'll give it a shot.
OTHER HOBBIES: Songwriting, watching old movies, spending too much time on the Internet.
PERSONAL MOTTO
: What do you want from me?
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...random Internet strangers want to know my opinions. Don't they?
Tom Haugen
Staff Writer
tomstevenh@yahoo.com
ritesofspring_st_150BORN: June '76
JOINED THE DV STAFF: March 2012
HOMETOWN: Minneapolis, MN
NOW LIVING IN: Dallas, Texas
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Amanda / Moz - cat, Lucky - dog, Ringo - ferret
FAVORITE ARTIST: The Smiths
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE:Chuck Ragan, Unbroken, Banner Pilot, Rival Schools, Radiohead, Heroin, Maritime, Face To Face, Chain of Strength, Snapcase, Bad Religion, Fugazi, Seaweed, Superchunk, Jimmy Eat World, Green Day, The Cold Beat, Jawbox, Jets To Brazil...
BEER: that doesn't go too well with my straight edge tattoo...
OTHER HOBBIES: Bmx riding, fitness.
PERSONAL MOTTO: “Never Is All Ways Around" - The Hated
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:
...I feel it's necessary to let people know there is so much great music out there beyond the heaps of garbage littering the FM dial...
Vish Iyer
Staff Writer
wish_1979@hotmail.com
thecure_wish_199BORN: March 1979
JOINED THE DV STAFF: September 2003
HOMETOWN: Mumbai, India
NOW LIVING IN: Edmonton, AB Canada
SPOUSE / KIDS: Happily married / no kids
FAVORITE ARTIST: Steven Wilson
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Cure, Smiths / Morrissey, Catherine Wheel, Cocteau Twins, Curve, Tears For Fears, Nine Inch Nails, Sneaker Pimps, Depeche Mode, New Order, The Mission UK, Faith No More, Massive Attack, Electronic, Grant Lee Buffalo, Jeff Buckley, Jesus Jones, The The, Manic Street Preachers, etc.
BEER: I am a teetotaler. I wouldn't like to be a toper. I am happy drinking just plain lemon juice. It is much healthier.
OTHER HOBBIES: Writing poetry, watching documentaries of all sorts, reading books (PG Wodehouse, J D Salinger, Albert Camus, etc.), and a little bit of guitar-playing and music-mixing.
PERSONAL MOTTO: Don't worry too much about life. It will depress you anyway.
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...it gives me a great sense of satisfaction by writing them and sharing my thoughts on music with other cognoscenti, like myself.
Curtis Jones
Staff Writer
curtisjonesdv@yahoo.com
beatles_abbeyroadBORN: 1983
JOINED THE DV STAFF:
December 2011
HOMETOWN:
Baltimore, MD
NOW LIVING IN: Baltimore, MD
SPOUSE / KIDS?: One spouse, two kids
FAVORITE ARTIST: The Beatles
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Bob Dylan, Fleetwood Mac, Ralph Stanley, Blue Highway, Paul Williams, Eric Clapton, Elvis, Primitive Quartet, Dave Brubeck and on and on.
BEER: I don't drink.
OTHER HOBBIES: Bi-vocational Baptist minister, playing music, history, reading, politics, current affairs and any other hobby my brain fancies in a given month.
PERSONAL MOTTO:
“A man does not have to just be one thing for his whole life" - me
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...it is an extension of my love for music.
Melanie Love
Assistant Editor
melanienlove@gmail.com
boniver_emma_150BORN: 1990
JOINED THE DV STAFF: December 2005
HOMETOWN: Los Angeles
NOW LIVING IN: New York City
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Nope
FAVORITE ARTIST: Queen
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Okkervil River, Bon Iver, Elliott Smith, Neutral Milk Hotel, The Mountain Goats, Death Cab For Cutie, Red Hot Chili Peppers, U2, Band Of Horses, Coldplay, Arcade Fire, Sparklehorse, Bob Dylan, Guns N' Roses, George Michael, Jeff Buckley
BEER: Nah. I'll pull a Freddie Mercury instead and request champagne.
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading, writing, and other general mayhem
PERSONAL MOTTO: "Art is not a mirror to reflect reality, but a hammer with which to shape it." - Berthold Brecht
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:
...I like to think it justifies all the money I spend on CDs.
Benjamin Ray
Staff Writer
benjaminray25@gmail.com
BORN: 1983 pearljam_ten
JOINED THE DV STAFF: August 2004 / August 2012
HOMETOWN:
Lansing, MI
NOW LIVING IN:
Adrian, MI
SPOUSE / KIDS?:
Wife, Jessica; handsome sons, Aaron & Caleb
FAVORITE ARTIST: Pearl Jam
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE:
Led Zeppelin, Genesis, U2, R.E.M., Oasis, Alice in Chains, The Beatles, Stone Temple Pilots, Aerosmith, King Crimson, Metallica, Pink Floyd, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Supertramp, Madonna, David Bowie, Miles Davis, Steely Dan, The Moody Blues...this could go on.
BEER:
Now and again...more of a wine guy, though
OTHER HOBBIES: Playing guitar, writing, kayaking, painting, hiking, cooking, wine tasting, family time.
PERSONAL MOTTO: If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...this is the only place I can be a rock music geek and not get laughed at for it
Jason Warburg
Editor
editor@dailyvault.com
brucespringsteen_borntorun_199BORN: when Pete Best was still a Beatle
JOINED THE DV STAFF: October 1997 (Editor since January 2003)
HOMETOWN: Ross, CA
NOW LIVING IN: Seaside, CA
SPOUSE / KIDS?:
Karen / Josh, Sarah & Eric
BLOG:  jasonwarburg.com
FAVORITE ARTIST: Bruce Springsteen
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Montrose, Yes, the Beatles, Switchfoot, Fountains Of Wayne, Gin Blossoms, Ben Folds, Big Big Train, U2, Shawn Mullins, the Who, Counting Crows, AC/DC, James Taylor, Led Zeppelin, Semisonic, John Hiatt, Jimi Hendrix, the Jayhawks, Ian Hunter, Mary Chapin Carpenter, etc.
BEER:
Occasionally (a cold one on a hot day).
OTHER HOBBIES: Writing, reading and the San Francisco Giants.
PERSONAL MOTTO:
"I don't know.  I'm making this up as I go!" -- Indiana Jones
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...Rock'n'Roll Jeopardy said no.

Contributing Writers: Jeff Clutterbuck, Kent Glenzer, Paul Hanson, Ben McVicker, Mark Millan, Bruce Rusk, Michael R. Smith

Alumni: Luke Adams, George Agnos, Josh Allen, Eric Atwell, Benny Balneg, Alison Bellach, Brian Birnbaum, Michael Broyles, Greg Calhoun, Andrea Callahan, Daniel Camp, Tammy Childs, Mike Cirelli, Steve Cooper, Elizabeth Crowder, Sarah Curristan, Graham Drennan, Eric E5S16, Duke Egbert, Corwin Egbert, Ben Ehrenreich, Michael Ehret, Laura Elise, Mark Feldman, Scott Floman, Roland Fratzl, Richard Fulco, Cory Galliher, Gordon T. Gekko, Sandra Gilraine, Chris Harlow, Denise Henderson, Herb Hill, Allen Hunter, JB, Tommy Johnson, Phil Jones, Mark Kadzielawa, Paul King, Emily Kinsella, Tom Lancing, Shane M. Liebler, Loznik, Sean McCarthy, Riley McDonald, Kenny S. McGuane, Adam Mico, Alfredo Narvaez, Giselle Nguyen, Candy North, Hansen Olson, Casey O'Lear, Darren Paltrowitz, Mark Phillips, Jedediah Pressgrove, Sam Rusk, Jono Russell, Julia Skochko, Dan Smith, Jon Southwood, Alicia St. Rose, Marshall Terrill, Christopher Thelen, Jason Thornberry, Matthew Turk, Peter Vissers, Eric Warburg, David Welsh, Larry (Duke) Williams, Bill Ziemer