The Daily Vault Review Panel

The qualifications to become a member of The Daily Vault's reviewing staff are simple: love music, write well, keep your commitments, don't expect to earn a dime. If you're interested in being part of a team that writes about music purely for the love of it, e-mail us at editor@dailyvault.com.  

David Bowling
Staff Writer
sdbowling83@earthlink.net
bobdylan_blondeBORN: The Truman Administration
JOINED THE DV STAFF: May 2007
HOMETOWN: Woonsocket, R.I.
NOW LIVING IN: Whispering Pines, N.C.
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Susan/ Amy, Stacey and two grandchildren
FAVORITE ARTIST: The Beach Boys
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Roy Orbison, Lou Reed, the Jefferson Airplane, Dire Straits, Dusty Springfield, Etta James, Pat Benatar, Mary Chapin Carpenter, early Santana, Bob Dylan.
BEER: All
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading and traveling
PERSONAL MOTTO: Relationships are temporary. Vinyl is forever.
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...it is a way to express publicly the interaction between myself and the music.
Daniel Camp
Staff Writer
danielcamp1989@gmail.com
beatles_abbeyroadBORN: 1989
JOINED THE DV STAFF: January 2008 / July 2018
HOMETOWN: Garland, TX
NOW LIVING IN:
Waco, TX
SPOUSE / KIDS?:
Married with a son, and delighted daily by both.
FAVORITE ARTIST: Bruce Springsteen
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Switchfoot, The Beatles, Nirvana, Johnny Cash, Kanye West, Eric Clapton, Matt Maher, Kendrick Lamar, Gaither Vocal Band, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Chris Stapleton
BEER: Root
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading, running, Major League Baseball, the NBA, and spending time with my family
PERSONAL MOTTO: Love God and love people.
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: I love music, I love writing, and I believe in albums.
Pete Crigler
Staff Writer
tmjmutiny92@gmail.com
trippingdasy_jesus_150_01BORN: April 1986
JOINED THE DV STAFF: April 2014
HOMETOWN: West Point, VA
NOW LIVING IN: West Point, VA
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Nope
FAVORITE ARTIST: Faith No More
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Dead Milkmen, Primus, Fishbone, Lamb of God, Suicidal Tendencies, Violent Femmes, Pearl Jam, Chili Peppers, Foo Fighters, Nirvana, Too Much Joy, Judybats and literally hundreds more.
BEER: Total straight edge
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading constantly and watching probably way too much TV and movies
PERSONAL MOTTO:
Have a good time, all the time!
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:
...it’s nice to have a say in this rapidly changing music scene.
Duke Egbert
Staff Writer
xgrundy@gmail.com
alanparsons_anything_199BORN: “Love Is Blue” by Paul Mauriat was number one.
JOINED THE DV STAFF: September 1998 (the first time...)
HOMETOWN: Ottawa, Illinois
NOW LIVING IN: Noblesville, Indiana
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Some of each
FAVORITE ARTIST: Alan Parsons, solo or Projected.
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Duncan Sheik, Vertical Horizon, Spock’s Beard (Neal Morse era only), Peter Gabriel, Carrie Newcomer, Heather Dale, The Smithereens, Rush, Amanda Marshall, James McMurtry, Vienna Teng, Eva Cassidy, Marillion, Kansas, Kacey Musgraves, Icon For Hire, Jim Croce, Susan Werner.
BEER:
Odell 90 Shilling, Save The World Lux Mundi, Strange Land Entire Porter.
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading, writing, gaming.
PERSONAL MOTTO:
"Our life is what our thoughts make it." – Marcus Aurelius
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:Rolling Stone pissed me off at an early age.
Tom Haugen
Staff Writer
tomstevenh@yahoo.com
ritesofspring_st_150BORN: June '76
JOINED THE DV STAFF: March 2012
HOMETOWN: Minneapolis, MN
NOW LIVING IN: Dallas, Texas
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Amanda / Moz - cat, Lucky - dog, Ringo - ferret
FAVORITE ARTIST: The Smiths
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE:Chuck Ragan, Unbroken, Banner Pilot, Rival Schools, Radiohead, Heroin, Maritime, Face To Face, Chain of Strength, Snapcase, Bad Religion, Fugazi, Seaweed, Superchunk, Jimmy Eat World, Green Day, The Cold Beat, Jawbox, Jets To Brazil...
BEER: that doesn't go too well with my straight edge tattoo...
OTHER HOBBIES: Bmx riding, fitness.
PERSONAL MOTTO: “Never Is All Ways Around" - The Hated
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:
...I feel it's necessary to let people know there is so much great music out there beyond the heaps of garbage littering the FM dial...
Melanie Love
Assistant Editor
melanienlove@gmail.com
boniver_emma_150BORN: 1990
JOINED THE DV STAFF: December 2005
HOMETOWN: Los Angeles
NOW LIVING IN: New York City
SPOUSE / KIDS?: Nope
FAVORITE ARTIST: Queen
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Okkervil River, Bon Iver, Elliott Smith, Neutral Milk Hotel, The Mountain Goats, Death Cab For Cutie, Red Hot Chili Peppers, U2, Band Of Horses, Coldplay, Arcade Fire, Sparklehorse, Bob Dylan, Guns N' Roses, George Michael, Jeff Buckley
BEER: Nah. I'll pull a Freddie Mercury instead and request champagne.
OTHER HOBBIES: Reading, writing, and other general mayhem
PERSONAL MOTTO: "Art is not a mirror to reflect reality, but a hammer with which to shape it." - Berthold Brecht
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE:
...I like to think it justifies all the money I spend on CDs.
Mark Millan
Staff Writer
mmillan79@yahoo.com
tinaturner_foreign_150BORN: October 1979
JOINED THE DV STAFF: June 2008 / March 2020
HOMETOWN: Melbourne, Australia
NOW LIVING IN: Bayside, Melbourne, Australia
SPOUSE / KIDS?: No / no
FAVORITE ARTIST:
Bob Dylan
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Tina Turner, Cheap Trick, Blondie, Renee Geyer, The Rolling Stones, Prince, Grace Jones, Cher, Lady Gaga, Europe, David Bowie, Madonna, Nelly, Whitesnake, Robert Plant, Sade, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, Mary J Blige, Patti Smith, The Police/Sting, Alice Cooper.
BEER: Just the occasional wine and vodka these days.
OTHER HOBBIES: Gigs, music, beach, reading too many books, movies, gym, chilling, AFL.
PERSONAL MOTTO: “Here’s to feeling good, all the time.” – Cosmo Kramer.
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...I love albums and can’t imagine purchasing music any other way. It’s also not cool to bore my friends with all of this...
Jason Warburg
Editor
editor@dailyvault.com
brucespringsteen_borntorun_199BORN: when Pete Best was still a Beatle
JOINED THE DV STAFF: October 1997 (Editor since January 2003)
HOMETOWN: Ross, CA
NOW LIVING IN: Seaside, CA
SPOUSE / KIDS?:
Karen / Josh, Sarah & Eric
BLOG:  jasonwarburg.com
FAVORITE ARTIST: Bruce Springsteen
OTHER ARTISTS I LIKE: Montrose, Yes, the Beatles, Big Big Train, Switchfoot, Fountains Of Wayne, Jason Isbell, Gin Blossoms, Ben Folds, Ian Hunter, Semisonic, Shawn Mullins, the Who, Pretenders, James Taylor, Led Zeppelin, John Hiatt, Jimi Hendrix, the Jayhawks, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Counting Crows, U2, etc.
BEER:
Occasionally.
OTHER HOBBIES: Writing, reading and the San Francisco Giants.
PERSONAL MOTTO:
"I don't know.  I'm making this up as I go!" -- Indiana Jones
I WRITE MUSIC REVIEWS BECAUSE: ...Rock'n'Roll Jeopardy said no.

Contributing Writers: Jeff Clutterbuck, Vish Iyer, Curtis Jones, Mark Kadzielawa, Shane M. Liebler, Ben McVicker, Benjamin Ray, Ludwik Wodka

Alumni: Luke Adams, George Agnos, Josh Allen, Eric Atwell, Benny Balneg, Alison Bellach, Brian Birnbaum, Michael Broyles, Greg Calhoun, Andrea Callahan, Tammy Childs, Mike Cirelli, Steve Cooper, Elizabeth Crowder, Sarah Curristan, Ken DiTomaso, Graham Drennan, Eric E5S16, Corwin Egbert, Ben Ehrenreich, Michael Ehret, Laura Elise, Mark Feldman, Scott Floman, Roland Fratzl, Richard Fulco, Cory Galliher, Gordon T. Gekko, Sandra Gilraine, Kent Glenzer, Paul Hanson, Chris Harlow, Denise Henderson, Herb Hill, Allen Hunter, JB, Tommy Johnson, Phil Jones, Paul King, Emily Kinsella, Tom Lancing, Loznik, Sean McCarthy, Riley McDonald, Kenny S. McGuane, Adam Mico, Alfredo Narvaez, Giselle Nguyen, Candy North, Casey O, Hansen Olson, Darren Paltrowitz, Mark Phillips, Jedediah Pressgrove, Bruce Rusk, Sam Rusk, Jono Russell, Julia Skochko, Dan Smith, Michael R. Smith, Jon Southwood, Alicia St. Rose, Marshall Terrill, Christopher Thelen, Jason Thornberry, Matthew Turk, Peter Vissers, Eric Warburg, David Welsh, Larry (Duke) Williams, Bill Ziemer